PDA

View Full Version : Roll or Stuff a Tent??

Kodak-RM
08-02-2013, 13:17
Do you roll or stuff your tent? Which way works the best while hiking?

atmilkman
08-02-2013, 13:21
You may start out rolling, but you'll eventually just stuff and go. Manufactures will tell you to just stuff also as it prevent the tent from developing creases in the same spot which can lead to premature leaking.

Ktaadn
08-02-2013, 13:25
Hi, My name is Chris and I used to be a meticulous folder/roller.

I am in recovery though and I have been stuffing for a few years now. With the support of friends and family, I hope to never relapse.

HikerMom58
08-02-2013, 13:30

I am in recovery though and I have been stuffing for a few years now. With the support of friends and family, I hope to never relapse.

Ha Ha!! That's really funny Chris!! It took a lot for me not to fold it .. I stuff it now. ;) Never going back either...

Sarcasm the elf
08-02-2013, 13:31
Do you roll or stuff your tent? Which way works the best while hiking?

Six of one, half a dozen of the other.

These days i usually fold the tent and fly of my double wall separately and the put them in the front pocket of my pack so that they can dry during the day.

max patch
08-02-2013, 13:36
Manufactures will tell you to just stuff also as it prevent the tent from developing creases in the same spot which can lead to premature leaking.

I've also heard that, but I'm a roller (I roll around the stakes and the poles) and I've never experienced that problem before it was time to replace the tent because it became technologically obsolete.

Kodak-RM
08-02-2013, 13:42
You may start out rolling, but you'll eventually just stuff and go. Manufactures will tell you to just stuff also as it prevent the tent from developing creases in the same spot which can lead to premature leaking.

Now do you stuff in the smallest stuff sack possible or one to give it room to breathe?