PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie!

KelBel
08-03-2013, 11:02
I have 3 young children and I have such a strong desire to hike the AT. It's obvious that I would have to section hike it, until they are off on their own. I'm starting to research and plan my section hike starting next season. We live close to SNP. We used to backpack and camp off the AT for long weekends at a time, but we are a bit rusty. We still hike a lot and are in good condition. Are there any books that include maps and everything we need that you guys can recommend? And can anyone recommend a good route to get started? Maybe from SNP to Harpers Ferry. Thanks in advance and I look forward to getting to know and learn from you all!!

Coffee
08-03-2013, 11:12
The PATC books and maps are good. I have been using the SNP book this year with the National Geographic SNP map. I wish I purchased the 3 PATC maps instead since they are more detailed and go with the book.

http://www.patc.net/PublicView/Shop_at_the_PATC_Store/BrowseCategories/Core/Orders/category.aspx?catid=7

slbirdnerd
08-03-2013, 11:22
Hands down, The At Guide by David Miller, this website, and the state trail map for whatever section you're doing. Also, read lots of books by hikers: AWOL on the Appalachian Trail, Becoming Odyssa, A Walk in the Woods (Bryson), Three Hundred Zeroes, Just Passin' Thru, etc... you can learn so much from other's experiences. I started section hiking this year, NOBO from Springer. Happy hiking!

fredmugs
08-03-2013, 11:25