PDA

View Full Version : where to start planning?

Wildflower_90
08-06-2013, 01:07
Hi!

I am a complete newbie with long thru hikes. The longest I've done is 10 days in southern PA as a camp counselor with 10 12 year old girls! It was a blast and I've had the AT on my list for a long time! I have finally planned a start date. March/April 2014 as a NOBO. My question is where to begin the planning. There is so much I plan other than gear. Is there an order in what you plan? I am 23 and a solo hiker! So any advice will help! I've already statue getting my gear list together I'm just hoping to figure out the rest that I may be missing.

Thanks All,
Anna

Hill Ape
08-06-2013, 01:34
don't over plan. start with your gear, then do as many weekend, and week long hikes as you can to dial in your gear, do it in the rain too. get comfortable with your gear. most people, especially newbies carry FAR too much stuff. start saving money, one of the leading causes for not going the distance is running out of money. my rule of thumb, and this varies widely per person $2000 for your gear, $5000 for the hike. it can be done cheaper, it can be done more expensive. there are many great books, the two i suggest for planning inspriration are zach davis' appalachian trials and david millers awol on the appalachian trail. ask every question you think of, they've been asked before, its ok. do not listen to anyone (you family) that second guesses your goal, or you being a solo female hiker

http://theatguide.com/PlanNobo2010-15.html

one of the moderators here, sly, has a great spreadsheet of all the mail drop locations, and a nifty app for printing mail labels. you don't have to do mail drops, but if you choose that route, his app is handy. he's not hard to find, and will probably post in this thread before long. the link is in his signature line.

welcome, and good luck!

QuabbinHiker
08-06-2013, 03:43