PDA

View Full Version : after finishing the thru hike

howdymansmom
08-07-2013, 22:02
Hello all,

My son, Howdyman, just finished his NOBO thru hike today! YAY! Anyway, he called and asked me to see if I can get him a blood test ordered to check for Lyme disease and Girardia. He told me he wanted to be checked for these post hike, has no symptoms, but that he'd read it was a good idea. He also wanted me to check to see if there was anything else he should get checked for. I am a nurse in a hospital and friends with his personal physician, so he was asking me to get this set up for him. If anyone has other suggestions of what he should look for I would appreciate hearing from you. I will be picking him up from the airport on Monday, and will be driving right by the hospital on the way home. Stopping in for a lab draw will be no big deal. Thanks for your help!

two isles
08-07-2013, 22:05
This never occurred to me last year, but I guess it is a good idea. ( I carried meds for both on the hike)
Congrats to your son!

howdymansmom
08-07-2013, 22:08
bah! i spelled giardia wrong ;p

canoe
08-07-2013, 23:25
Did he read it or did you want it?

moldy
08-08-2013, 08:12
What's wrong with just going to the doctor? Minus symptoms of giardia it's not likely the doc will recommend a stool sample test. No blood test for giardia. Minus a tick story and minus symptoms of Lyme's disease the doc may recommend a blood test just for peace of mind.

Blissful
08-08-2013, 09:41
I'd also be sure he gets on an exercise program and a diet. No joke. The weight comes on fast as does the post trail blues.

BrianLe
08-08-2013, 11:07
Agreed on the stool sample thing, but I wonder about broad spectrum testing unless done by someone who's familiar with outdoor issues. Beyond just giardia, there's cryptosporidium, for example, Beyond Lyme there are other tick-borne diseases. A friend got something lyme-like on the AT that had similar symptoms, and delivered by a tick, but wasn't lyme.