PDA

View Full Version : Trekking poles... where to start?

Nar Nar
08-12-2013, 12:28
I've been backpacking for about 2 years now and I have never needed trekking poles. I'm young and in good shape so I never saw the point in bringing them, until a combination of a lot of running and hiking has started to take a toll on one of my knees. For that reason, I'm going to start using them next year and I need to invest in a good pair of poles. However, I have no idea where to start. I've heard some bad stories about Black Diamond's customer service so I'd probably like to start with Leki, but they have so many different options that I don't know what to choose. Weight and price are a factor, but I'm not willing to drop a significant amount of money just to save a few ounces. What do you use? What would you recommend? Thanks guys!

slbirdnerd
08-12-2013, 12:36
I do love my Black Diamond trail ergo's. I've not had to contact customer service so I can't comment on that. Trekking poles are great whether you need them to aleviate pain or not. Mine have kept me from many a fall on my butt. Saved me just last weekend on a flat but very muddy area. I have both but usually use only one, slightly shorter than regular length. Works for me. I would definitely recommend the flip (not twist) locking kind. The only problem we had was my doofy dad running my tractor into the garage wall and smooshing one my son's BD poles that was leaning there. I don't think customer service could help that! ;)

coach lou
08-12-2013, 12:42
Black Diamond Ergos for me also! I hang on them pry with them lean on them....and I've never had the need to call BD customer service either.

max patch
08-12-2013, 12:48
Piece of tree limb on the side of the trail. Free.

If you want to experiment with "real" poles Costo has a pair for $28 I believe.

If you want name brand poles try Lekki - poles always seem to be breaking but they have a good rep for fixing them.

jbwood5
08-12-2013, 13:07