PDA

View Full Version : Gaiter/Radio Recommendation

randoark
08-04-2005, 08:58
Hi all,

I'm a southbounder who is thinking about picking up some gaiters for rain protection. I've got Goretex boots (Asolo Fugitives) and during a hard all-day rain, my feet only get wet because the rain starts to get into my socks and then drains into my boot. Of course, being Goretex, it then takes a couple days to dry out on the trail.I'm a gaiter newbie - don't have a problem with mud and dirt and other stuff getting in there, I just want something that will keep out the rain. How good are gaiters for doing that? Of course, it has to be lightweight too! Any suggestions? Nothing worse than putting on those wet socks in the morning...

Also, i'm thinking of picking up a radio to catch baseball games and the occasional tune if I want to zone out while hiking - anyone have any good recommendations? I've run into at least 3 nobos who have the $30 radio w/shortwave from Radio Shack. Basically looking for something with great reception, great battery life, and a reasonable price. Oh, and lightweight :).

Thanks for any and all help.

Shian (Barrel Roll)

stupe
08-04-2005, 09:23
Don't know about gaiters, but I can recommend the Grundig MiniWorld 100 PE AM/FM/SW radio. I carried one from Vermont to West Virginia last year, and got pretty good reception just about everywhere. I've seen it for $30, but you can get it for $20 if you shop around. J&R Music World in NYC has it, and they ship.

Footslogger
08-04-2005, 10:06