PDA

View Full Version : why i gave up a dream, and how i learned my lesson

Hill Ape
08-22-2013, 02:01
Just meeting my monthly sharing quota. Not even sure I want anyone to read this.

I was born and raised just about as close to Springer as anyone lives. I've always loved the trail. A thru hike was an inevitable dream. Postponed every year since I graduated high school, always the responsible choice. Never regretted it. Took a pilgrimage on the Camino, thought that scratched the itch.

Until my youngest son died. Then I started thinking about all his dreams that will never be. Then I was diagnosed with a life altering disease. I gave up on life for a minute. All that did was fill me with a shame I can't fully describe.

The next year I was browsing books to prepare, imagine my shock when my name was on the cover of one. Good Badger and I share a legal name. How dare I hike the trail without me. I felt taunted, challenged. And still I had a nagging doubt. Would my health hold out?

And then I found Dirty Girls journal. He was in Pennsylvania at the time. Thru hiking with the same disease I live with. Openly doing it to raise awareness for something I can barely admit to. Wish I had met him sooner. I followed every day of the rest of his hike. And when he made it, I was left with no more excuses.

I didn't raise any of my son's to ever give up.

I want to thank Billy, Zach, and Ross for inspiring me when I stumbled. I will climb katahdin at the end of a thru hike. And I will carry each of you with me. Hillbilly, Good Badger, and Dirty Girl.

Why am I going to thru hike? Because I've always wanted to. Because my hillbilly will never hike again. Because someone with my name wrote a great book. Because I'm living with AIDS, not dying from it. Because Ross did it first, he set the record, the pressure is off me. I'm simply proud to follow.