PDA

View Full Version : Section Hiking

GinaF
08-26-2013, 12:53
Hello Everyone, I have been doing short hiking trips for several years. Roughly three day trips. Always with others. I am beginning my research to start section hiking the AT beginning next year. As of now I will be solo. I am a little nervous but also excited about this leap. My plan, as of now, is to do several 7/10 day trips. I am a little daunted by the amount of information out there. Where should I start my research? Which books? Logs? Or what? Thanks in advance.

illabelle
08-26-2013, 16:23
Hi Gina, and Welcome to WhiteBlaze! :welcome
Start here, http://www.appalachiantrail.org/about-the-trail and read everything several times. Every tab, every menu, cyber hike on the interactive map, immerse yourself.
Order a trail guide (I have both of these, and they're very useful): https://www.atctrailstore.org/catalog/iteminfo.cfm?itemid=719&compid=1 and http://www.theatguide.com/
Eventually you'll need some maps. I got mine used from somebody on WB. They're a few years old, but so what. You can purchase maps from the ATC (first link above), or search elsewhere. You don't have to get them all at once.
This, http://www.atdist.com/ , is a great online mileage calculator, that keeps a log of your mileage for you...except that I cleared some search history and lost it all.:(
I'm not into equipment so much, so I'll let others help you with that topic. Hope this gets you started! :)

quasarr
08-26-2013, 17:46
Looks like you have some experience already. A 7 day section isn't much different from a 3 day! Are you just concerned about being solo? Logistics? Gear? What are your concerns?

slbirdnerd
08-27-2013, 08:29