PDA

View Full Version : Backpacker Magazine

Game Warden
09-03-2013, 17:59
I've been subscribing to Backpacker Magazine for a couple years now. If I was a new hiker, I would draw two conclusions about backpacking from their magazine: First, backpacking is extremely expensive; every piece of gear or clothing costs at least $300, regardless of what it is or what it does. Second, backpacking is extremely dangerous; hikers are always getting washed away in floods, struck by lightning, eaten by bears, falling off cliffs, bit by snakes, etc. Their local hike info is good, but they seem beholden to their advertisers at the expense of content. I bet you will never find an DIY alcohol stove article, or supermarket hiker-food article, cuz that might impact their advertisers. I sometimes feel like I'm reading a catalog instead of a hiking magazine. Ultimately, if backpacking is perceived as dangerous and expensive, there will be fewer backpackers. Is there a better magazine out there?

flemdawg1
09-03-2013, 18:02
Nope, there isn't a Dirtbagger Magazine. BPer is as good as it gets in print, the articles on BackpackingLight.com are good though.

hikerboy57
09-03-2013, 18:08
whiteblaze is unavailable in print

Different Socks
09-03-2013, 18:09
I stopped my subscrription a few years ago b/c it seemed like every year they would talk about the same things: Do it this way, how to use a compass, first aid, how to stay in shape, avoid this, reading the sky, how to stay dry/warm/cool/positive, etc. For awhile I would simply read it hoping that they featured a new place to go or a trail I've never done. After 15 years or so, it got awfully redundant. A few years back there was a mag called Adventure West, and another called National Geo Adventure, and a 3rd called Outdoor Odysey or something like that. All 3 were good mags, but they have stopped printing them. Those 3 would publish stories c about many things I'd never seen in 15 years of BPers.

da fungo
09-03-2013, 18:11