PDA

View Full Version : What do you do for a blanket for your dog?

Goonky
09-03-2013, 22:16
I'm headed out to the Bigelows in Maine this weekend with my dog Charlie and they are predicting night time temps in the 40s. That'll be the coldest night I've spent on the trail, but I have a 20 degree mummy bag. I don't think he'll fit in it. :)

So what about Charlie? I have lots of options for what to bring, lots of stuff around the house.I have some fleece I bought to make him a sleeping pad (sewed tyvek on the bottom). Will that be enough to cover him?

What do other folks do? Am I worrying too much? I don't want him to be uncomfortable.

Studlintsean
09-04-2013, 10:21
I'm headed out to the Bigelows in Maine this weekend with my dog Charlie and they are predicting night time temps in the 40s. That'll be the coldest night I've spent on the trail, but I have a 20 degree mummy bag. I don't think he'll fit in it. :)

So what about Charlie? I have lots of options for what to bring, lots of stuff around the house.I have some fleece I bought to make him a sleeping pad (sewed tyvek on the bottom). Will that be enough to cover him?

What do other folks do? Am I worrying too much? I don't want him to be uncomfortable.

I think a lot depends on the type of dog. Some on here have huskies, shepherds, etc and they mention their dogs can sleep outside the tent in the snow. On the other hand, I have a American Pit Bull Terrier and he is very lean and seems to turn into a huge wuss when it gets a bit chilly in the tent. This past trip I brought him a very thin fleece blanket and a very thin piece of an old CCF sleeping pad. Last winter I brought a much thicker CCF sleeping pad and much thicker fleece blanket plus a fleece made by ruffwear and he was still cold. Im interested in some of the responses you can and have thought about maybe using a childs sleeping bag cut in half and resewn together.

Sarcasm the elf
09-04-2013, 10:35