PDA

View Full Version : Noob considering thru hike

xalex
09-09-2013, 03:20
So I'm basically a noob at hiking, camping, and definitely backpacking.

I was wondering if anyone had a definitive resource they had to learn the skills needed to do these things and complete a thru hike.. and also maybe a guide to navigating the very complex world of gear. There's so much info and things to buy online it's overwhelming..

Basically, skills needed to thru hike successfully so we can start now, and also the right light gear to buy. Thank you in advance.:)

VTATHiker
09-09-2013, 04:57
Welcome to Whiteblaze xalex. There's WAY more information out there than you need. After a thru hike you realize that less is more. A good place to start though is by binge-reading Whiteblaze topics on packs, bags and tents. Other places to look for inspiration: http://www.trailjournals.com/entry.cfm?id=386738.

Hike on!

atbackpacker
09-09-2013, 08:20
here's a good place to start...http://lnt.org/learn/online-awareness-course

good luck and enjoy the trail!

Venchka
09-09-2013, 09:19
Practice. Practice. Practice. Practice.
Don't run out and buy a pack first. Assemble your other gear first. Then buy a pack that holds your stuff.
Don't buy a pack online. Get properly fitted for a backpack. Try several. Find the one that fits you best. It took me 3 tries before I found a backpack that didn't try to cripple me.
Rent before you buy. If possible.
Good luck.

Wayne

evansprater
09-09-2013, 10:22
You have any friends/acquaintances that backpack? One of my buddies got me into it, and he was my single most valuable resource as I could directly ask him questions and get straightforward answers without having to navigate the spiderweb of BS and opinion of the internet. Feel free to private message me (or, I'm sure anyone else on the forum) if you have any questions.

Mags
09-09-2013, 10:36
I wrote this doc. Aimed at people who may be overwhelmed w/ planning for the AT: