PDA

View Full Version : Anybody using poncho liners for top quilts? How cold can they go if so?

William36
09-09-2013, 14:33
Just curious if anybody here uses a military poncho liner converted to a top quilt, how cold you think it's good for?

geomaniac
09-09-2013, 14:53
I wouldnt think you could be much below 50 with one. At least the one I have. It might be good for summer use.

kayak karl
09-09-2013, 15:04
i use liner for summer use also and for that 50-70 degree. i have a 40 degree for below 50. i converted a 40 big angus. just cut away the pad sleeve (left 16" for foot box) and zipper. weights 15 oz.

daddytwosticks
09-09-2013, 15:16
Just curious if anybody here uses a military poncho liner converted to a top quilt, how cold you think it's good for? I looked into this for summer ground use. Other than poncho liners being simple and relatively cheap, getting yourself a proper hiking quilt will probably be warmer and lighter, although more expensive. :)

William36
09-09-2013, 19:27
Yea but two quilts x $200+ per = seriously upset wife.

BigHodag
09-10-2013, 21:36
I use a poncho liner during summer. The problem with the liner is that it lacks a wind shell so any breeze over the liner drains heat. You need to use a tent or rig your tarp low.

There is a mod to sew a shell layer to one side using an inexpensive space blanket.

i have used my poncho liner with my hammock down to 55F with long johns.

coach lou
09-10-2013, 21:43
Just curious if anybody here uses a military poncho liner converted to a top quilt, how cold you think it's good for?

I have used it in summer, when I know weather will be bad in winter I take it along. Years ago, I tried to use it and my wool blanket, but got a summer bag. It now is in my car as a car blanket.

winger
10-01-2013, 15:15
Check out this two manufacturers, both are very well liked and respected:
Kifaru and Hill Mountain People.
Kifaru makes a traditional style poncho liner and HMP makes a serape.