PDA

View Full Version : Massachusetts trip. Shuttle FAQ?

Patrick
08-09-2005, 17:50
Hello,

I'm looking to hike the AT through Massachusetts at the beginning of September. I'm going to drive up there and drop my car off at one end and hike back to it, so I could use a ride.

I don't know the area, but I'll be there around the 3rd or 4th. I don't have a preference for going north or south. Whichever way is convenient for someone shuttling is good for me.

This is my first time looking for a shuttle. How do I figure the money? Is there a standard amount that people give or something based on mileage? Is there anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks a lot.

-Patrick

Jack Tarlin
08-09-2005, 19:17
Different shuttlers want different ammounts.....some do it for fun and will only accept gas money. For others, it's a business. In many cases, you may find that folks are asking around $1.00 to $1.25 a mile, tho in some cases, it may be more, especially if a bad dirt road is involved, or if you need to get dropped off or picked up at a spot that's either difficult or time-consuming to drive to. In ALL cases, find out before getting in the car exactly what the driver expects so that there are no surprises.

The most comprehensive state-by-state list of reliable shuttlers can be found at the ATC website, www.atconf.org

Off the top of my head, you might want to contact either Tom Levardi or Rob Bird, two wonderful guys who both live in Dalton, MA. Both of these guys have been helping hikers for quite awhile; you can get their contact info by accessing the On-Line Thru-Hikers Companion (see www.aldha.org) and look in the Massachusetts section.

Cookerhiker
08-09-2005, 20:29
I section-hiked the southern half of Mass. in April (Rt. 20 to Sages Ravine) and got shuttled by Dana Murphy who lives in CT. He's on the ATC list mentioned above by Jack. He was prompt and timely which I appreciated since I only gave him about a week's notice.

Patrick
08-10-2005, 00:00
Jack and Cooker,