PDA

View Full Version : Question About Merino Wool Clothing

Turkey Sandwich
09-16-2013, 12:12
I've been hiking almost completely in Icebreaker regalia for a two or three years now, and I'm fairly certain that I'll never go back. However, the prospect of thru-hiking brought up a question that I haven't encountered before.

One of the few disadvantages, in my eyes, of merino wool is that it takes a sight longer to dry than synthetic stuff. This has never bothered me on previous trips, as I just go without washing until I go home. However, I will have to do washing of my garments fairly frequently on a thru-hike. Can anyone who has thru-hiked in merino stuff tell me if this became a problem for them? Were you always putting on soggy clothing the day after a town stop? Did you find yourself lingering in town waiting for your stuff to dry? Is synthetic a better choice for a thru hike?

colorado_rob
09-16-2013, 12:44
I've been hiking almost completely in Icebreaker regalia for a two or three years now, and I'm fairly certain that I'll never go back. However, the prospect of thru-hiking brought up a question that I haven't encountered before.