PDA

View Full Version : Psychological musings and thoughts...

Outdoorsman88
09-21-2013, 08:57
I am by no means an expert in the backpacking field, but nor am I a beginner. I am physically fit, have been hiking 8-10 miles a day in the mountains of NC with full pack for some time now, have decent enough willpower, but still find myself lacking the psychological "umph" to push me into committing 100% to doing the trail. My mind gets filled with "what if"s and "but"s, and all my negative mind seems to do is to feed them. Anyone else having these sorts of negative mindsets? My main struggle with the trail will most definitely be 90-95% mental. If I am going to undertake this monumental task of the trail, I need to put into place some sort of meditation practice or something of the sort in order to detach from the negative thoughts and just "be." Thoughts/opinions/rants/comments??

Be well,
Jeff

ChinMusic
09-21-2013, 09:05
I never figured out how to get rid of negative thoughts, and still made it.

windels11
09-21-2013, 09:20
That is what happens to me ... I just try to put my mind in a different place, I think about when I get to the top and how pretty it is.. It helps some of the times but I've never found a 100% way to get it out of my mind

kidchill
09-21-2013, 09:33
You just have to keep going...it's easier said then done, trust me. Once I hit Harper's Ferry, I really didn't want to hike anymore. At the same time I didn't want to quit either. I didn't really know what to do, so I just kept my head down, stayed outta town, and kept on moving. The first quarter of the trail is physical, the second quarter comes easy, the 3rd quarter is mental, and the 4th quarter is both mental and physical. This is just my opinion from my hike...

Paul the Brit
09-21-2013, 18:40
I would suggest reading Appalachian Trials (A psychological and emotional guide to successfully thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail) by Zach Davis http://appalachiantrials.com its a great read.

Dogwood