PDA

View Full Version : Delorme InReach vs. Spot Gen 3?

slbirdnerd
10-01-2013, 20:45
Which do you use and which do you like best? I want something for safety and communication but would love a GPS, but don't want to carry both. Thoughts?

Stalking Tortoise
10-02-2013, 07:54
I have no experience with the SPOT Gen 3 but have been using my inReach blue paired to an Android device since last April. One of the important benefits that comes with the inReach is the ability to download Delorme's topo maps to your device. The AT and many of the shelters are shown on the maps so it's very useful. The downside to the blue unit is that you need to carry the inReach AND the paired device. Not a big problem, since most folks would be carrying a smartphone anyway. The maps work with the GPS antenna within the phone and can be used independently of the inReach.

I don't know how the maps work with the inReach SE. Maybe someone will chime in with their experience.

As for communication and safety, I lent my inReach to a friend who was out elk hunting in Colorado last month. He was in a wilderness area and was about a 2.5-hour horseback ride from the outfitter's lodge. The unit allowed him to keep in touch with his wife and she was able to relay several important messages to the outfitter. The system worked flawlessly for nine days.

slbirdnerd
10-02-2013, 08:56
Thanks, Stalking Tortoise, this is helpful. I think the SE is their new (only) model currently and from what I've read it sounds like it does what you're talking about. I was curious about the pairing and maps so I"m glad to hear how well it works for you. With the REI 20% off member special for fall I got in the mail yesterday, I'm leaning toward this. :)

Stalking Tortoise
10-02-2013, 09:45