PDA

View Full Version : question re. using hiking poles

jefals
10-11-2013, 18:03
I'm new to hiking, so pls forgive me if this sounds like a stupid question ( I know, I know, "There ARE no stupid questions, right? Well, if there WAS a stupid question, this might be it! :) ) But..., on my first hike, I was following a trail, and discovered that the trip back was mainly on asphalt (you had to walk on the bike trail). At that point, my legs were pretty tired. Just wondering, if I had had hiking poles then, could I have used them without damaging those tips? Seems like hard surfaces (like rocky areas or, in this case, asphalt) would damage those tips...
Thanks!,
Jeff S

hikerboy57
10-11-2013, 18:20
most trekking poles come with rubber tips to cover the metal points.and the metal tips will hold up fine for limited road walks.

Nutbrown
10-11-2013, 18:24
I actually use the rubber tips on my poles all the time. I use the poles more as a balance aid than extra grip. So no, the rubber tips would not be damaged.

Starchild
10-11-2013, 18:29
On hard surfaces I usually will just carry them instead of use them. But yes the tips are made of a very hard metal and can withstand asphalt very well. Rubber tips will soften the sound better on such surfaces but are not needed.

Another Kevin
10-11-2013, 18:30
The carbide tips last approximately forever. They're nearly as hard as diamond. You use the rubber tips on the road because otherwise you tear up the road surface and get asphalt stuck all over your pole tips.

Make sure that your rubber tips are the ones for road-walking. Some poles come with flimsy rubber or plastic tips for storage that will NOT hold up to a roadwalk.

Del Q
10-11-2013, 18:44
Rubber tips are great............until you get to Vermont

Then they get sucked down into the abyss of mud and roots.

Theosus
10-11-2013, 19:01