PDA

View Full Version : Winter sleeping bag

nastynate
10-23-2013, 19:51
I'm wanting to do some backpacking this winter and I nene a sleeping bag or quilt. I just do 2-3 day trips right now, so I don't HAVE to go out if it looks like temps will drop into the single digits. I spend most of my trips in Tennessee and North Carolina. I'm 5'8" and 160 lbs. I have a homemade 5.0 apex quilt for 3 season use and I'm comfortable using a quilt down to 32. Not sure about below that. I made a cost
/weight chart with all of the most popular 10-15* bags. If I go with one in the $250 range I could get a down hoody, but not if I get a $400+ bag.
EE RevX 10* 29oz $225
EE Enigma 10* 19oz $415 (water resistant down)
Underground quilt Flight Jacket 20* with 3oz overfill 24oz $275 (water resistant down)
Zpacks solo 10* 20oz $410
Wilderness Logics Kingsize 10* 26oz $245
WM Versalite 10* 32oz $500
Montbell SS 1 15* 37oz $400
Marmot Helium 15* 35 oz $400

I'm fairly new to backpacking, and to going lightweight. But I know that a winter bag is a investment and I only want to do this once.

Weather-man
10-23-2013, 20:18
My .02....I just bought an EE Rev X in 10* during a sale that Tim was running on BPL. I'm 5'9" and about 185. I chose the wide version and a bit longer so I can crawl in it a bit deeper if I need to. I also had it over stuffed by 2 oz. IIRC, the total weight is now about 32oz and it was around $200 delivered to the house.

I personally love quilts and prefer them over bags even in the winter. For years, before quilts were commercially marketed, I used to open up my bag and use it quilt-like. Critical, as I'm sure you know, is an appropriately rated pad for the conditions as the pad is a component of the "system", especially when using a quilt in the winter. This is an important aspect and if you decide to quilt in the winter you should ponder your pad system carefully.

kayak karl
10-23-2013, 20:22