PDA

View Full Version : Restless Sleeper

Ercoupe
10-29-2013, 06:04
I have a nice 10 Degree Feathered Friends Bag, that I have taken to 5 degrees on a neoair with a Z-lite sol. During some nights, I toss and roll around and eventually get colder even on 30 degree nights. What I find happening, is the dow is being pushed to the sides of the bag by my movement. Has anyone experienced this and would the answer be a verticle baffle bag.

Weather-man
11-05-2013, 06:26
I have a nice 10 Degree Feathered Friends Bag, that I have taken to 5 degrees on a neoair with a Z-lite sol. During some nights, I toss and roll around and eventually get colder even on 30 degree nights. What I find happening, is the dow is being pushed to the sides of the bag by my movement. Has anyone experienced this and would the answer be a verticle baffle bag.

When you ask "is the down being pushed to the sides.." are you referring to the down being compressed by your movement or the down actually being shifted in the baffles? If I had to take a guess I'd say that perhaps when you toss and turn you're expelling the warmed, internal air and causing cold air to rush in.

Is the bag fully zipped? Being that it's a FF I'm assuming it has a down collar and zip baffle...

What are your sleeping clothes? I've used a quilt or a bag in a quilt config for years but always dress fairly warm for sleeping. I do get some cold air leakage but it's never been a proble.

Dr. Professor
11-05-2013, 23:46