PDA

View Full Version : Section hiking advice

Kia Kaha
10-29-2013, 06:47
I am a very experienced hiker/backpacker and am going to start section hiking this spring. I am a HS teacher so my plan is 200-300 miles per year. I live in OH and was planning on starting at Springer and working my way up over ~7-10 years. My other thought was to start at Harpers Ferry and head south as it would be a closer drive, although, of course eventually I would have to drive/fly at some point. Just wanted to get some ideas and thoughts from the experienced on here. I am pretty open to anything. I have spring break week in April and 3 weeks in the summer to play with. Thanks-Lance

daddytwosticks
10-29-2013, 07:14
Who says you have to do it in any order? Just pick a section, perhaps dictated by the time of year around your work schedule and go hike it. Just get out there and enjoy the AT and it's community. Good luck and have fun. :)

Kia Kaha
10-29-2013, 07:56
That is the way I am leaning, Harpers ferry would be close and close to where I grew up in WV, so it makes more sense to start, but the systamatic person that I am thinks I need to start at point "A" and work my way in one direction. Getting out there is the main goal.

bfayer
10-29-2013, 08:01
Do you want the AT social experience? Or do you prefer more solitude on your hikes?

Where and when you start and stop makes a huge difference on the number and type of hikers you will interact with.

That should be part of your planning process. It really does change the whole experience of a hike.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

Seatbelt
10-29-2013, 08:03