PDA

View Full Version : Layering without breaking the bank

hikernutcasey
10-30-2013, 16:35
I am hoping to go on a weekend trip at the end of this month and I was trying to see if I could get by without buying a ton of expensive clothes. I have lightweight base layer underwear, a Montbell UL 800 fill down jacket, a light weight fleece 1/4 zip pullover and a Frogg Toggs dry ducks rain jacket in my closet right now. Also have a good beanie, gloves and extra wool socks. Can I make this work if temps get down in the low 20's?

I'm not too worried about sleeping as I have a 25 degree down bag and a silk liner. I'm also not too concerned while I will be hiking. My main worry is while I'm in camp trying to set up, take down, cook, get water etc.

If this isn't enough what one item would you recommend I add?

flemdawg1
10-30-2013, 16:43
You'll be fine.

FooFighter'12
10-30-2013, 16:45
Your list sounds good to me. Maybe add a windbreaker to the mix.

what sort of elevation are you going to be camping in?

hikerboy57
10-30-2013, 16:51
top is fine, a warm base layer for the legs is good for camp. otherwise its hikers midnight these days around 5pm. if you intend to do a lot of cold weather camping, down pants are an excellent investment.($$$$)

Teacher & Snacktime
10-30-2013, 17:02
I have a thin acrylic scarf that is wonderful for keeping body heat in. It's one of those really cheap, really thin type that are supposed to be strictly decorative and worn outside a dress coat. Cut it down in length and just wrap it around on the inside of your collar.....you'll keep your core warm.

hikerboy57
10-30-2013, 17:08
top is fine, a warm base layer for the legs is good for camp. otherwise its hikers midnight these days around 5pm. if you intend to do a lot of cold weather camping, down pants are an excellent investment.($$$$)
fyi, i was fine with ems merino polarguard bottoms underneath marmot scree softshell pants this past march with temps down to the teens

Teacher & Snacktime