PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here looking for some advice.

nebulight
11-04-2013, 16:47
First, I'm new here so if this is in the incorrect section, please let me know or move the thread.

Hello all. I'm new to the forum and to backpacking. I love the outdoors but typically my hikes are a max of full day hikes. I've never done an overnight stay on any hike I've done. I was recently in the catskills a few weeks back and after a long day of hiking, I was sitting at the summit and told myself that I need do this more often and I should start training for a thru hike. I've been thinking about it ever since.

I currently have ZERO gear (minus my day pack Talon 22 and an Osprey water pack). I've been doing a lot of reading online and am liking the idea of "Ultra-Light" for somethings, but still prefer the cheaper price of non-UL as well as comfort in tent size/options. Based off online reviews, i have a few things here tentatively picked out:

Item
Weight
Cost
Notes

Osprey Exos 46
2 lbs 5 oz
Light enough but still has a frame

Kelty Cosmic Down 20
2 lbs 11 oz
No super light, but inexpensive

Big Agnes Copper Spur UL2
3 lbs 7 oz
Room enough for my wife if she comes along on weekends

Snowpeak LiteMax Titanium Stove
1.9 oz
Good reviews

Snow Peak Trek 700 Titanium
4.8 oz
Good reviews

Therm-a-Rest NeoAir XLite
12 oz
small and light

Sawyer Squeeze Water Filter
2.5 oz
Everyone loves this thing

Black Diamond Alpine Carbon Cork
1 lbs 1 oz
Not sure if these are needed as I don't use poles now

Black Diamond SPOT HEADLAMP
3.2 oz
Good reviews

Total:
11 lbs .4oz

I really have no local options to go check out these products in person, but even if I did, I really wouldn't know what's what. I'd like to get some feedback from members here as my ultimate goal would be to use this equipment for a thru-hike, however these would be items I would be using during weekend trips/hikes until I would have the money saved up where I could take off work for 5-7 months.

thanks!

Rasty