PDA

View Full Version : Best pack to carry bear canister?

GBarron
11-05-2013, 18:06
Hi all,

Could use a bit of help with a purchase decision.

Some background: To date, most of my hiking has been in Canada, but friends want to plan a trip to California next summer; specific destination as yet undetermined. But I expect we'll be required to carry a bear container, which typically aren't required in Canada.

My base weight runs 10-12 pounds and I've been happy with an 35 litre Arcteryx Cierzo for trips up to 5 or 6 days. But I expect we'll need more volume if we carry bear containers. And it might be nice to have external pockets.

One option I like is the Osprey Hornet 46. All the design features I like, a bit more volume, plus a design that's closer to the conventional climbing packs I've been using for 30 years. But maybe I need to get used to the virtues of roll-tops.

That said, I'm leaning towards the Six Moons Designs Swift. A slight bump in usable volume if one includes external pockets. Reasonable price. Good reviews. Light weight. Rugged design. I like the large hip pockets. And the tall side pocket would be a good home for my TT Moment.

Not sure if I'll use my Exped Synmat UL for the pad pocket or cut up several widths of 5 mm Evazote foam. Suggestions?

And I'm really used to webbing compression straps, so I will have to adjust to the less robust looking cord compression system.

Anything I'm missing? Will this pack fit a bear container with my base weight? Anything else I should look at or think about?

Thanks for any/all comments!

G.

P.S. As an afterthought, I do notice that, to me at least, modern UL gear is less visually appealing than its midweight mass-produced counterpart. Don't get me wrong: I can see the virtues of the Swift and I love my TT Moment and EE Revelation X quilt. They epitomise to me pretty close to the optimum in functionality and light weight. But I confess that I'm often seduced by the looks of heavier gear.