PDA

View Full Version : Specific geography question for you

Seesfar
11-17-2013, 23:31
A bit about me. I am a recently retired teacher. I am fascinated by the AT. I live in Wyoming. I want to do the AT and have been devouring books. I just registered for this website today. Here is my question.... I am 59. In fair condition... have had several knee surgeries. I am going to do the AT in segments. Being gone for 6 months is not real in my life. I am wanting to start next May. I will go for several weeks. I want to start at an easy place on the trial. OK, easier, I understand there is no easy. So where is a flatter segment that gets tougher after a few weeks. I want to work my way into this. Right now I am thinking Harper's Ferry and proceeding North. This is just from reading. But really I have never been there. Please help with any advice. My thinking is to hike for a month or so and then head to Maine and get the northern terminus under my belt. Am I thinking right? Help please. Thanks so much.

Teacher & Snacktime
11-17-2013, 23:33
Yes, yes and yes. I've done tons of research and had decided the same thing. Our first hike was North out of Harper's Ferry for the exact same reasons. I'd recommend it one hundred times over.

Gray Blazer
11-17-2013, 23:35
How do your knees do now when you hike? I had ACL replacement a few years back and my knees hold up fine now. The ACL knee is actually better than the one that had no surgery.Doesn't bother me on the AT. I even play basketball.

Seesfar
11-17-2013, 23:36
You are great!

Seesfar
11-17-2013, 23:38
You know, the ACL is good. I had that surgery many years ago. In the days before it was a scope. Part of my patelar tendon is my ACL now. I am still and always will be a few degrees away from full extension, but no limp. It is very strong. I don't worry about it.

Seesfar
11-17-2013, 23:40
I love having found this site. I have a lot of questions...

Tinker
11-17-2013, 23:40