PDA

View Full Version : Itinerary and start date suggestions

beeper
11-25-2013, 08:51
I am pretty lucky in that I can get time off from my job for a thru hike. The logistical problem is that the earliest I can get leave is September 1st and I need to be back to work on July 1st. I would like to spend 5+ months hiking the trail and have a few weeks cushion on the back end so I would want to finish by mid June at the latest. I could realistically start on September 1st.

I think these dates mean I miss the traditional NOBO or SOBO itineraries, which as far as I am concerned is great since it leaves some beautiful, albeit cold, off season weather for my hike and fewer people. I grew up in the Whites and have a fair amount of winter hiking/camping experience. I would prefer not to be in the Whites in the middle of the winter. I have also spent some time in Shenandoah in the winter and that seems reasonable to me. I have no winter experience in the Smokies.

I have considered a late season SOBO (start September 1st), an early season NOBO (start January 1st), and a flip-flop to starting SOBO September 1st until MA and then NOBO to try and avoid the coldest weather.

I am looking for suggested itineraries.

fredmugs
11-25-2013, 09:23
It would help to know your level of experience and fitness. SOBO means doing the tougher part first but if you do do 15 miles per day until you get thru the Whites and 20 miles a day or more after that I would just start SOBO on Sept 1 and keep going.

beeper
11-25-2013, 10:21
For experience, I have done lots of 3-5 day hiking trips (longest being the Wonderland trailin WA) and a dozen or so 10+ day back country climbing/mountaineering trips. My fitness should be fine for 15 miles a day through the Whites. Covering 20 miles a day after that with short days, winter gear and possible snow would be physically hard for me. Further, I think that is a faster pace then I want/need to set. I want to take my time (at least at the beginning).

moldy