PDA

View Full Version : Runkeeper / what else?

dmax
11-26-2013, 22:26
I've noticed on Fb different people using run keeper to track their workouts.
Is this the best one to use?
Is their any others I should look into?
Do they have any that record good on trails also?

Spirit Walker
11-26-2013, 22:36
I use runningahead.com - they have good maps, but don't include trails, though you can trace some trails on satellite view.

Sailing_Faith
11-27-2013, 07:14
There is fitbit.com also, but two people I know have used it and been less then impressed.

urbansix
11-27-2013, 08:48
I have been using Runmeter app on Iphone for 2+ years. Have not compared it to similar apps, so can't say if it's better than others. It has a lot of features, including intervals, virtual race, walk, hike, run, cycle, etc. Uses cell reception for tracking, and eats batteries, so not great for backcountry hiking.

urbansix
11-27-2013, 08:51
Edit to add, I have not been able to find a satisfactory app for gym workouts - tried Fitocracy, several others. They are all a colossal PITA, so I switched back to notepad app or real pen/paper, or gave up on tracking.

wannahike
11-27-2013, 08:55
I started with runkeeper then they changed stuff so I tried endomondo for awhile, I went back to runkeeper when they changed again. I've used runkeeper in pretty heavy tree covered city park and it worked well, we thought it was a little more accurate than my friends garmin watch that day.

There is also map my run in which you can plot out your route and check mileage before you go, which is how I use it. I did a quick check and there seems to be some hiking routes in GSMP.

Pedaling Fool
11-27-2013, 08:56
I use runningahead.com - they have good maps, but don't include trails, though you can trace some trails on satellite view.
The only thing I track are my runs and I only use a Word document to keep records.