WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

View RSS Feed

Brewerbob

Lessons that may help on the A.T.

Rate this Entry
We’re sunk

Went “home” for the Memorial Day weekend. Home is Tallahassee and the panhandle of FL. From reading thru the blogs, many of the lessons the A.T. teaches are lessons I’m already familiar with and try to practice even at work.

Had a pretty good trip even if it was a rough start. I set the alarm for our 6am flight. We didn’t go to bed until after midnight and being that I’m half an hour from the airport and I was shooting for arriving an hour before the flight, that didn’t leave much time for sleep. Turns out that once you set an alarm, you must also turn it on. I woke up at 5:47. I’m a pretty aggressive driver but I can’t make the airport in 13 minutes. We changed flights to a 3pm with a 3 hour layover for a $50 fee. There was an 8am and a 9am flight that we could try standby for an additional $50. Getting to ATL was going to be easy as the flights weren’t over sold. Problem was the leg to TLH was full so we might get stuck in ATL. I decided to try it anyway.

On the way to the airport, I’m not paying any particular attention to where I’m at as I’m dodging mouth breathers. I-95 between Baltimore and DC is full of them. I’ve made this trip many times so … I do see the exit sign saying I’ve got two miles to go for the left exit. It’s the only left exit. I get in the left lane and about 5 minutes later I wonder if I’ve missed the exit. 70+mph + 5 minutes = more than 2 miles. I’m about 4 miles beyond my exit. Peachy.