WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Images

Default Tarptent Contrail vs LightHeart SOlo

Im ready to buy one or the other. I leaning towards the Contrail because of the "apparent" ease of setup as well as the additional 2 square feet of room... I am changing from a BA Copper Spur UL1... Any suggestions advice?

Images

Quote Originally Posted by goody5534 View Post
    Im ready to buy one or the other. I leaning towards the Contrail because of the "apparent" ease of setup as well as the additional 2 square feet of room... I am changing from a BA Copper Spur UL1... Any suggestions advice?
    Lightheart has better ventilation options, less condensation issues, and when the weather allows much better views. Tarptent makes a great product, you really can't go wrong with either.

Images

I have no experience with the Tarptent Contrail, but Tarptent has a good reputation. I have owned the Lightheart Gear Solo and I was very happy with it. I think you find in fact that the Solo is the larger of the two -- 30sqft vs 21sqft -- at only 2.5 ounces more than the listed weight of the Contrail.

I found that with the Solo, there was plenty of room for myself and my gear with room to spare. Plenty of room to sit up and I found the position of the tent's headroom ideal; I could sit right up without rubbing against the tent body. I also found the Solo quick and easy to set up. And I really prefered the side entry over that of a front entry tent.

I think that you would be well served with either tent. I have since moved on to a hammock, but I would pick the LHG Solo again.
    igne et ferrum est potentas
    "In the beginning, all America was Virginia." -​William Byrd

What I don't like about my contrail is the forward entry. Space and weight is great

PCT, Sheltowee, Pinhoti, LT , BMT, AT, SHT, CDT, TRT 10-K's Avatar