WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Quilts vs. Sleeping bags?

So I'm relatively new to the backpacking world, having only done a few small weekend trips, and need some advice from some seasoned hikers. I've got most of my gear already and have relied on the advice of my parents and brother, all seasoned on the AT, primarily for most things, but I'm seeking advice from the community on sleeping systems specifically.

You know how some people are picky eaters? Well, I'm a picky sleeper. I can only really comfortably sleep in the half army crawl position, which basically is stomach sleeping with your leg sticking out. That sleeping position doesn't lend itself well to any traditional sleeping bags I have seen, so I'm open to suggestions and would like advice.

I have a Big Agnes Air Core sleeping pad, which is probably among the most comfortable without adding significant weight, but I'm not sure how to complete the sleeping system. I've been thinking quilt (specifically enLightened equipment Revolution 30*) because sleeping bags are too restrictive, but what should I be looking for?

Additionally, has anyone used enlightened equipment quilts before? How durable are they? They only offer 10D nylon as a shell for their long length quilts, and I'm concerned it will rip too easily.

Thanks for your help!

Images

I am a barrel chested guy and bought a big agnes deer park 30, which is a 3lb down bag rated at 30 degrees, and it has I think an 80" shoulder area. Love the bag, but it takes up too much space in my pack, even when compressed.

In the interests of going lighter, I am leaning towards an EE Revelation X 20 degree quilt. I have read numerous forum posts about how good their stuff is, and it's reasonably priced at about $225.