WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Needing a SOBO Thru-hiker

I am a teacher in NC, and I was wondering if anyone who is going to be starting to SOBO soon would be willing to correspond with my class. I would like for them to be able to send letters to you and even goodies! We live close to some of the AT, so I am interested in having them meet you also. Please let me know if you're interested.

Quote Originally Posted by pinkpanther
    I am a teacher in NC, and I was wondering if anyone who is going to be starting to SOBO soon would be willing to correspond with my class. I would like for them to be able to send letters to you and even goodies! We live close to some of the AT, so I am interested in having them meet you also. Please let me know if you're interested.
    i am new to this site...as well as to the at scene...does sobs mean south bound?if so i am plannin on leavin the crafton notch area the beginin of april...i would like to take a ton of pictures on the way...and maybe even write a book about my travels...

one idea is to find a sobo hiking now.... many have current online journals at www.trailjournals.com most should be over halfway done by now and quickly headed into your area.

also, it might be best to contact the transcribers and or homebase of hikers you would like to speak with.. since they will be the ones who speak with them on a regular basis... if you just email the hiker it may be weeks before you get a reply

PS MR-- yep sobo=southbounder

September is really late to be starting a southbound hike. Most start in June or July.