WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
    Images

Default Irrational Fears

Hey everyone, Kinda new here, however I've been hanging around for a while reading ... Although I have lots of experience with going backpacking and being outdoors alone, I can't seem to get over one of my most frustrating fears. Its totally irrational, and has always driven me nuts! Its my fear of running into other people (that may do harm in some way). Whether hiking my local trails or backpacking for three nights. My family thinks me nuts, as I am in the woods on a daily basis either hiking, mtn biking, snowshoeing or otherwise (so it is not debilitating) ... I am dying to know what other think, and what other people fear irrationally, and/or if some others have the same fear, while out in the woods... Take care everyone!

For they particular fear, you might try ditching your TV.
    "It's fun to have fun, but you have to know how." ---Dr. Seuss

I'm a little nervous at the thought of who or what I might encounter, but I think I'm way more afraid of mountain lions.

Images

i have had the rangers call on me 5 times. homeless guy with dog in living in woods. most people are standoffish till they get to know me. do you have this problem on city streets too?
    I'm so confused, I'm not sure if I lost my horse or found a rope.

Wanna-be hiker trash
    Images

Quote Originally Posted by gypsy97 View Post
    I'm a little nervous at the thought of who or what I might encounter, but I think I'm way more afraid of mountain lions.
    I was going to say that fear of cougars is totally irrational, until I saw that you live in CA.