WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Seeking Georgia Hiking Partner

I am fairly new to hiking. This year I have dedicated to day-hiking as much of the AT as I can. I have done Blood Mountain Loop trail more times than I can count. I have done Springer Mountain loop trail a few times. In a single day, I've done Desoto falls, Brasstown Bald, which can hardly be called a "hike," Arkaquah trail which was a moderate hike (point and back) and the Blood Mountain loop trail, which was my longest single day hike of approximately 20 miles.

Recently, I've accomplished my longest day hike (~30 miles) Amicalola falls, AT approach to Springer, Springer to Long Creek Falls via Benton MacKaye Trail, and Long Creek back to Amicalola falls via AT, AT approach, and the hike in trail.

I have been exclusively a day hiker. I would love to section hike the Georgia portion of the AT over labor day weekend this year. I also plan to do all of BMT in 4 sections in 2015. I am currently in the process of researching information for these upcoming hikes. I found this site during that research.

Some upcoming day hikes I hope to do soon would include:

(1) Springer to Woody Gap day hike (~20 mile hike, 40 miles out and back) (requires a partner or shuttle which I've never used before).

(2) Woody Gap to Neels Gap (~10 miles, 20 miles out and back) (i can do this point and back in a single day)

(3) Neels Gap to Unicoi Gap (~20 mile hike, 40 miles out and back) (requires a partner or shuttle).

(4) Blood Mountain Loop Trail + Jarrard Trail, and Slaughter Creek Trail Loop ( ~ 12 - 13 miles).

(5) Duncan Ridge Trail (~ 31 miles) absolutely requires a partner for any remote chance of completing it as a day hike point to point.

If you are in the area and are looking for a hiking partner, please let me know.