WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Registered User Different Socks's Avatar
    Images

Default Hiking with BF(future husband) for first long hike

what should I expect?

We will be thru hiking the Ice Age Trial and I'm new to this. Have great enthusiasm, but also the usual doubts. Other than what he has told me so far, is here anything, especially the female hikers out here, that you can tell me?

Getting out as much as I can..which is never enough. :) Mags's Avatar

how much previous backpacking experience does your partner have?

Is this first long hike period? First backpacking trip? Or first long trip being done with a significant other for both of you?

That could make a difference.

If the person is new to backpacking, weekend trips to iron out gear and hiking style issues is probably an excellent idea. I know for my wife and I, it took us a while to get our system dialed in..and we are still working on it. She had previous backpacking trips under her belt, too.

If we had done a long hike together, AS OUR FIRST TRIP, much hilarity would happen. :O
    Paul "Mags" Magnanti
    http://pmags.com
    Twitter: @pmagsco
    Facebook: pmagsblog

The true harvest of my life is intangible...a little stardust caught,a portion of the rainbow I have clutched -Thoreau

Images

how much previous backpacking experience does your partner have? 1000s of miles and several long hikes, some of which were thru hikes.

Is this first long hike period? First backpacking trip? Or first long trip being done with a significant other for both of you? Yes, Kindofsortof, yes.