WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Ga/NC border

Smile Ga/NC border

I am planning a trip in March. I would like to start at the NC lane and come south. I am new to this. Can anyone tell me the best place for my wife to drop me off?

...Or is it Hiker Trash? Almost There's Avatar
    Images

There is a road up in NC tht goes into I wanna say Low Gap? It's right before Standing Indian. You'll have to backtrack about 10 miles to the NC/GA border. Otherwise Dick's Creek Gap is the closest road on the Georgia side of the line. There's no real easy way to start at the state line. If you haven't hiked Georgia before I would start here. It's a good 5-7 hiking south to Springer depending on your speed. I wanna say the state line is 8 miles north of Dick's Creek Gap. Good Luck.
    Walking Dead Bear
    Formerly the Hiker Known as Almost There

GA-VA 2005, VA-CT 2007, CT-ME ??
    Images

I agree with Almost There. There is access to the trail a few miles over on the NC side of the trail, but you'll have to do more driving on less accessible roads. Head up to Dick's Creek Gap on Hwy 76, about 10 miles east of Hiawassee. The picnic and parking area is pretty obvious. Then head AT north about 7-8 miles to check out the border line and the oak tree, then double back and make your way to Springer.

You'll have about 45 miles until Neel's Gap [AT crosses Hwy 19], where you can buy another load of food for the last 30 miles to Springer [or 38 to Amicalola State Park].

Parking at Dick's Creek is pretty safe too, from my experience. Except for the one time we were sleeping in our car after a late late drive. We woke up to hear a tree, ever... so slowly... leaning... creaking... branches scraping... over our car. It's funny looking back, at least.

Should be a great trip.
    -Mark

Default Heres what I would do