Default Looking for a trail partner or partners for a new backpacker

Hi, my name is Kate. I'm 24. I have been hiking for awhile but am just getting started backpacking. I am looking for a hiking and backpacking partner or partners to hike weekends and up to several week long trips this year with the goal of thru hiking the AT in 2016 or 2017. I live in north eastern Maryland, so looking for someone within driving distance. I know I'm a beginner so someone with some experience who doesn't mind helping a newbie along would be appreciated. I'm easy going and eager to learn Also any advice would be awesome! Thanks!

Just a suggestion; Is there a hiking club nearby? Going with an organized group is a good way to get started. I've hiked with more women than men in the last year.

go to meetup.com and see if there are any hiking groups

Journal Entries
    Images

Hi. I leave in Southern PA, but I work in Hagerstown. I am getting ready to do a section hike in the first part of June. Want to go as a warm up? PM me....

~Pamela

“Not all those who wander are lost.” ~ J.R.R. Tolkien, "The Fellowship of the Ring"

Not sure if you're looking for just women, but I'm looking for a hiking partner myself. I usually hike with my brother-in-law, but his schedule isn't as free as mine.
    "May your path through nature, lead you to yourself."

I am a newish hiker planning to hike from Damascus, VA to Pearisburg, VA beginning 5/1 to 5/15 or so. It is about a 4 hour drive from DC.

I have some experience hiking and backpacking, hiked from Spring to the NOC in 2011. I live in Virginia, close to Maryland and DC. I don't know a lot about hiking this area, but also want to get out for a few weekends before a 2016 thru hike
    "Life is either a great adventure- or nothing." -H. Keller

Hey ladies! Not sure where ya'll are currently, but I'd love to meet up for a few days around June 7-20. I'm in NC, but traveling isn't a problem. Child-dog care in place & ready to hike!

Hey there,