WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Registered User Bryce McCormick's Avatar

Question How important are poles for a thru hike?

I'm planning an ultralight thru hike for 2016. My base pack weight right now is about 15lbs. I've managed to acquire everything I need but I'm on a pretty tight budget and would rather save the money. I'm in good shape (170lbs, 33 years old) and I'd like to hike the trail a bit faster than usual (don't know if that matters). I have a fair amount of hiking experience but only over long weekends. I've never used them before and am not opposed to getting them, but I'd like some perspective from both camps if possible. Thanks.

Hi

I have used two poles for some time on walks here in Australia! Used them on a 1003 trek last year great for balance and take weight on downhill !

They have kept me from falling several times. . . so balance is good. Also helps to "boost" me up some places that require a large step up. I've also used them to beat around grassy areas or logs to scare off any critters before I sit. I never used to use them, but once you try them, you will be glad you did.

GSMNP 900 Miler
    Journal Entries
    Images

You don't have to spend a lot of money to have a hiking stick. I make my hiking sticks out of bamboo. Very light weight. Get some tennis racket grips and you'll still have solid control even if you're sweating or if it is raining. To avoid a blunt end at the top I even get a little fancy and glue smaller pieces of bamboo into the top nesting several layers till you have a solid piece of wood the you can send to a nice round shape. Finish it off with a protective layer of polyurethane and perhaps a chair leg foot protector to reduce wear on the bottom.

Journal Entries

"How important are poles for a thru hike?"