WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Preparing to hike the trail in 2017

Hey Y'all I am new to the forum and preparing for a thru-hike in 2017. I am a 21 year old male, heading into my senior year of college and I am starting to prepare for the trail now. Currently, I am 5'11", 360lbs, I started training about a month and a half ago and am down 20lbs already, I have gotten myself into a groove of losing 1 to 2 lbs a week. I am just looking for any advice on preparing for the trail, or gear suggestions, resources beyond this forum, or pre-hike suggestions near Arizona (where I currently live). Anything at all helps!

This community is an awesome resource to be a part of! I am so excited to go through this long journey hopefully with some of the people I meet through this forum!

Thank y'all!

Charlie

Work on the weight, not much point gear shopping ATM as your body will change and affect your choices.
    An incline treadmill comes highly recommended.

So does actual hiking and car camping!

Otherwise- you got time- welcome!

I agree with Bill. Two other sources helped me get started. One was Andrew Skurka's book "The Ultimate Hikers Gear Guide." http://andrewskurka.com/product/ulti...rs-gear-guide/. I think it is a good resource that gets you thinking about your gear as systems and choosing multiple use items. The second would be trailjournals.com. Reading others gear lists and experiences can only be beneficial. Make sure you do some hiking prior to your thru-hike. I think you learn more about efficiency and using your gear by getting out there. There really is no substitute for that. Have a great journey.
    Whether you think you can, or think you can't--you're right--Henry Ford; The Journey Is The Destination

Journal Entries