WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Images

Default trail runners for heavier guys

I am 5'8", and about 195-200 lbs. I have been wearing Oboz Yellowstone boots for backpacking for about two years now. I am ready to make the switch to some lighter trail runners. I found out what you guys meant about once water gets in a waterproof boot, it stays wet. So I know to get trail runners that aren't gore tex, and that drain well.

It's so confusing that there are so many choices out there. I like the Altras except people seem to all say they wear out very quickly, and these are normal size people.

I am just looking for input from guys who are stocky like me. My pack is typically 26lbs for weekends, so I am pushing 225 total weight! I usually take a normal width, but maybe on the edge of wide, as Nikes seem to be too narrow for me. I hear most Salomons run narrow, so that may eliminate them for me.

Any suggestions would be great. I hear good things about Newton BOCO (but no retailers in my area), and Innov-8. I also browsed Amazon, and several Adidas models looked promising, especially the AX2, but when something is that reasonably priced, I usually question it! lol

I have an easy 30 pounds on you and I stick with New Balances with Montrail heat moldable inserts. I live and use them in the whites and did about 3/4 of the AT with them over the years. They change models every year but I would probably buy the New Balance 510v2 as they look like my prior versions and they come in extra wide. Their sizing it odd and if you get the Montrail insert (from another source) you may need to go up a size.

I'm about 5-10, 190 and have had great success with Brooks Cascadias. Ultimately, you'll have to try them out in a store and see what feels comfortable. There are lots of options and what works for me may not work well for you.