WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: bakepacker

Images

Default bakepacker

This is by far one of the best pieces of equipment you can buy for under $20.00. You will never have to wash a bowl or dish again. You can also bake with this. Nothing like hot muffins in the morning or cornbread with supper. And it only weighs about 4 ounces. Fits in just about any pot. Has anyone elese used the Bakepacker before and if so do you have any good recipes?

Sardis Thru-Hiker Club - A 6.73 miler.

Thats very interesting. I've been doing the same thing for a few years by just putting rocks in the bottom of the big pot, to hold the smaller baking pan. Does this do any that rocks can't?
    You can't scare me. I work with Cub Scouts

I remember when bakepackers were the craze. (around 1988) But then we found out that you can do exactly what theurbansuburban (above post) says and save the money. You do need 2 pots though.
    You can bake anything that can be baked although it never browns.
    we made pancakes, cakemixes, those chicken helper bake things you buy, all kinds of stuff.

Images

Never thought about putting rocks in the bigger pot. Do you have to scrub out the smaller pot when you have finished baking? Or do you use the freezer bags to cook in like the bakepaker? I cook all my meals with the bakpaker and dont really do any dishes, which I like.

This gadget usually involves more time and fuel than the typical thru-hiker is willing to carry. Note that all prior replies have been from section hikers.

Images

I guess section hikers dont run into the same problems as through hikers do.

Images

Default Bakepacker

I've been using a Bakepacker for years.
    Take a look at www.Adventurefoods.com
    They offer all sorts of meals designed for the bakepacker.

Do I have any recipes....Yes...TONS