WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Locations for new hostel, suggestions welcome

Hey Guys! I need your help. I'm doing some research in hoping to one day start a hostel on the AT,.. but more importantly in an area where many hikers feel there is a definite need. I am reaching out to all trail clubs/groups associated with the AT and asking for any feedback that would be helpful. What areas would you consider to be best suited for this service, as well as what areas would be the most open and welcoming to this idea? Thanks,Dirk(Stinkus)
    I'm new to this sight so I apologize if this belongs in another forum.

Images

Stinkus, you might want to consider being a member of this site for a year or so, especially since the answer to your question is 99% personal choice, and get the vibe you're looking for.

Having said that, I think a really good hostel would be welcome at almost any trail-road crossing (and some other places) that doesn't already have a good one.

You might consider asking other hostel owners? They tend to be a fairly tight-knit group, meaning they communicate fairly well among themselves, ... and see what they say.

I think location is important in real estate, of course, but just as important or even more so is what kind of services you would offer and the cost and quality of those services.

Whatever you decide, best wishes to you!!! The AT seems to lose more service-providers than it gains each year, so a good one would be welcome by most.
    Last edited by Rain Man; 03-02-2016 at 13:04.
    [I]ye shall not pollute the land wherein ye are: ... Defile not therefore the land which ye shall inhabit....[/I]. Numbers 35

[url]www.MeetUp.com/NashvilleBackpacker[/url]