WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Default What's Wrong with Jeans?

I have read a lot of posts where people scoff at hikers in jeans. I've been a longtime camper and hiker and I've always worn jeans. I am most comfortable in them. I realize they can be problematic when you mix wet and cold, but I've always been able to live with that (although I have limited experience camping at altitude, so maybe that comes into play). With most hiker pants, I feel like I'm wearing parachute pants. It's a vain thing, but I feel completely ridiculous wearing them.

So, am I missing something? Why are jeans so vilified?

::nogray

I think they are heavy, uncomfortable, and take too long to dry. If you are okay with those things, then the issue of freezing to death(which you already alluded to) is the only problem left.

Journal Entries

Basically they are not good, even dangerous when wet, restrictive, and heavy. The do offer some protection against abrasion that hiking pants do not.

Personally I don't find them all that comfortable either.

You might consider Marmot Scree Pants (or similar). Neither baloony or overly heavy. Consider all options.
    "It's fun to have fun, but you have to know how." ---Dr. Seuss

Please, don't wear jeans.

I wear them when horse packing and camping in general, or on a day hike, but for backpacking I want something that dries quicker...and doesn't freeze. I camp and hike in the high-altitude mountains and if pants get wet (like mine did when I fell in through the ice and into the creek two weeks ago) they'll never dry.

jeans are heavy, once they get wet they won't dry and will be a heavy sopping mass, and if and when they freeze they would be like stiff cardboard. Cotton Kills!

Quote Originally Posted by nogray View Post