WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: 2017 Nobo folks

Default 2017 Nobo folks

I'm getting things all sorted out slowly and I don't think others enjoy my enthusiasm with all that goes into the planning. I'm looking for someone who is also in the same sort of situation to communicate with (email, text, phone). I'm driving everyone else nuts about it because I am nuts about it.

Journal Entries
    Images

Ha. My dad gives me 60 days and I'll quit. It's all the more reason to finish. I just completed 134.6 miles. Neels Gap to Fontana Dam. It was my second shake down hike for my 2017 thru hike. I'm by no means an expert. I just know what works for me now. My main concern is BPW, and it's down to about 14 lbs. would still like it lower and I think I can do it. If you need any advise from me just ask away. I'll do my best to try and help.

Journal Entries
    Images

Planning is ok. Not a big deal. Logistics are what you need. Don't ever plan on saying. "I'll be at a certain point at a certain time". It will take the fun out of it. Most people think it's all sunshine and butterflies. I can tell you this- my June shake down hike I was never dry. 11.5 days and the only time I was dry was at night after I changed into my camp clothes. The daily temps were high 70s to mid 80s but the humidity was 100% plus.

When i said planning I didn't mean for it to come off as I need help. Far from that. Just looking for people to bs about stuff. I have everything but some of it could use updating. My plans go as far as to sometime in mid March start and go as I go.

Pay your bills, pack your bag, and start hiking.

Planning for the AT is quite simple

Images