WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Zpacks Goose Down Hoodie or Beanie?

Hello!

I am so close to finally starting the Arizona Trail. Six months in the making. I am getting out there late so I will see temperatures occasionally dip below freezing at night. I have very little experience in these kinds of conditions and wanted to get some final input.

At 29 degrees will a Zpacks Down Hoodie be well worth the investment... or will a beanie do the job?

Here is what I have:

Tarptent Stratospire 1
    Zpacks 10 degree sleeping bag
    Western Mountaineering Flash Hoody (also I was thinking if need be I just throw the hoody on)

Ah, and I also have a Neoair Xlite.

I prefer synthetic insulation for headwear... don't have to worry about any sweat or body oils getting into your down. And if it's really cold you can wear it if needed around camp without worrying about getting moisture in it.

That said... about or barely freezing I'd probably be fine with a beanie, a fleece hat, and a buff or two

I have found that around freezing temps that a beanie and my buff were sufficient. I have not tried the down hoodie but I am in the market for a ski mask as I did find one night at really high elevation to be a little chilly for me...that is more because I start off sleeping cold anyway. I was fine during the night.

Quote Originally Posted by Just Bill View Post
    I prefer synthetic insulation for headwear... don't have to worry about any sweat or body oils getting into your down. And if it's really cold you can wear it if needed around camp without worrying about getting moisture in it.

That said... about or barely freezing I'd probably be fine with a beanie, a fleece hat, and a buff or two

Cool, this is what I was thinking: http://shop.outlier.nyc/shop/retail/...watch-cap.html