WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Water Bottle Holder

Hi everyone,

I am looking for a water bottle holder to attach my 28 ounce stainless steel bottle to either the hip belt or shoulder strap of my Gregory Z65. The side pockets on the pack are unreachable when I am hiking and I don't want to take the pack off each time I want to drink. I don't like using hydration bladders either.

I have seen some posts on here about making your own holder, but I'm not very good at sewing/making things. I haven't had much luck finding anything designed for this purpose. I have seen some MOLLE bottle carriers that look like they could work. I suppose I could dangle the bottle with a mini biner, but I don't want it swing around when I hike.

Has anyone seen or used something that works?

Well, I purchased a few "Aqua Clips" (google it). They work on the Smart water bottles, and others. I clipped it into a loop on my shoulder straps. then just took some shock cords (1/8th) and used a fishermans knot to make a loop that goes thru a small clip on the shoulder strap and around the bottom of the bottle. That keeps them from swinging around. I just reach to the bottle and pull up, the clip slides out of the strap at the same time the elastic rolls off the bottom of the bottle. Works good for me. I shift the water weight to my front, can see what I have left (I carry two) and have water right there, no reaching around. I don't even bother to remove the clips at night, just leave them on the bottles all the time.
    For a couple of bucks, get a weird haircut and waste your life away Bryan Adams....
    Hammock hangs are where you go into the woods to meet men you've only known on the internet so you can sit around a campfire to swap sewing tips and recipes. - sargevining on HF