WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Briefs or Boxer Briefs

I have spent all my adult life in regular briefs but I keep hearing about chaffing of the thighs on long hikes. I've been backpacking for 40 years but not the daily grind of a thru hike. I doubt there is any scientific data but just trying to get a feel if boxer briefs are an absolute necessity and if so 6" vs 9"? Also would like to hear from those that completed the trail in briefs. Obviously I can switch along the trail if necessary. Thanks so much for any input. This forum is awesome!

I always were UA boxerjock's with a 9" inseam when hiking. I had terrible issues with thigh chaffing prior to making the switch.

I've been moving to the Ex Officio boxer briefs from the Terramar boxer briefs...I like the Ex Officio fabric better...ahem...down there.....just sayin...

Which ever is more comfortable for you... I prefer running shorts. My key to no-chaffing is Body Glide.

For me, the hotter it is, the worse it is for chaffing. The briefs that work best for me is non-cotton, tight fitting, mid-thigh. The chemistry of unwashed, wet briefs is a very high ph. For me it's not a rubbing issue so much as a alkaline burned sensitive skin issue. When I have this issue the medicine I like best is, Baby diaper rash cream. It's a antiseptic that repels moisture, lowers the ph and has the added benefit of a pain killer to make the baby (and me) shut up.