WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Gear list!!! Lemme know what you think. Mid July end to end

Finally got the time to get my gear list together. LT end to end July 15th - ?. I have 30 days to finish so not sure when I'll be done.

This is is my first long distance hike so any input would really help. My longest hikes thus far have been long weekends,2-3-4 night hikes.

https://lighterpack.com/r/76byo1

Images

Looks good. 30 days is plenty. Starting mid July is fine. It'll be a great hike.

Why take the GoPro as well as the phone? I'd think you could do most or all of what you need with the phone, given the specs of the GoPro. (I'm a photographer so I get having a separate camera, I just don't know if the GoPro is better enough to justify it.)

I'd probably use the larger Sawyer bag for dirty water - easier to collect a lot of water and treat it into the smaller bag and the bottle. I like having the second bag in case the first one breaks - we also carried some Aqua Mira tablets for when we couldn't use the filter. Late July is when we started having the occasional problem with springs drying up.

Clothing looks fine - I brought a light down jacket, but a vest would have worked too. I wore my wool long johns and long sleeved shirt every night on the trail.

I see you have the E2E guide as your "map" -- do you have the LT map, too? It's the most useful thing we carried other than food. Also, if I did it over again (fat chance!!) I'd download the Guthook app and load the LT/AT data -- it would have been very nice to have on several occasions.

We combined our LT hike with a craft beer and B&B tour of Vermont on foot. Turned out pretty well in the end, and didn't cost as much as I thought it might. Lovely state, great people, terrific food and beer. The town stops were among the highlights of the trip.
    Ken B