WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Tyvek horror story request

Why does tyvek suck?
    What has been your experience with it?

I decided to put the full tent aside and start tarping.
    I ordered a MLD grace duo silnylon tarp. I'm looking to put together my own ground cover/bug bivy situation.
    I ordered a some kite tyvek and some silpoly window film.
    My lightest option will be the silpoly and a bug head net.
    I want to use the tyvek as a mock up for the base of an a-frame zip top bug net similar to the MLD serenity.
    I figured I would use it a few times this spring and then switch the base to something else later this year.
    I can sew and fabricate most anything, but I'm new to gear making.

What are my problems going to be with Tyvek?
    I know it won't be water tight, so the silpoly will go along.
    Can I sew it?
    Can bug net be sewed to it?

Im nutty with research on little projects like this, so feel free to share and helpful links.

Thanks

Polycryo window film, not silpoly

I used to work as a maintenance engineer in paper mills. Occasionally I'd wear tyvek coveralls. Hot and nasty....and nasty work.
    Whenever i see the stuff, i think of those suits. That's what's wrong with it for me.... I know that doesn't really answer your question...sorry.

Only a guess, but I'd suppose it wouldn't sew all that great. maybe not durable enough for that to hold up at stress points?? I remember getting punctures and tears in those old suits
    maybe good for your mock-up though....