WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Will my feet get bigger?

I've read that my feet will get bigger as I progress in my AT thru hike in 2018. I currently am working a job which has me on my feet all day and I walk 8-10 miles per day doing my job. That being said, do you think my feet will still increase in size on my hike, or do you think my feet are going to stay the same size. I've been working at my job for almost 30 years and my feet are the same size as they were from the day I started. I'm asking because I'm going to probably need a few pair of shoes to complete the trail and wanted to purchase them and break them in before I start my hike and I want to buy the correct size I'm going to need.

Images

But do you carry 30 lbs on your back all day long? It's a lot like being pregnant, usually your feet grow because you're carrying around so much extra weight putting pressure on your feet. Yours may very well grow a size.

So, you think buying one size bigger than what I'm currently wearing is what I should be buying?

Walking with weight will increase the size as will the higher altitude

Google: The symptoms of altitude sickness generally appear within hours of moving to higher altitudes. They vary depending on the severity of your condition. If you have a mild case, you may experience:
    • dizziness
    • headache
    • muscle aches
    • insomnia
    • nausea and vomiting
    • irritability
    • loss of appetite
    • swelling of the hands, feet, and face
    • rapid heartbeat
    • shortness of breath with physical exertion

Quote Originally Posted by Kscohug View Post