WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default HF to Springer then Katahdin to HF?

A double SOBO flip flop. What is others' thinking about starting at Harper's Ferry, down to Springer. Then bus or drive or air to Katahdin and south back to HF from there? That way I would have established my hiking skills well before hitting the worst rocky parts in ME and NH, etc. Also better weather conditions all around it seems, with the right starting dates.

I hike every day year round where I live, nearly all of it up or down, but not the heavy duty stuff of the high Northeast.

Thanks for your ideas and advice. Apologies if there is an older thread on this but I couldn't find it. (Thru-hike Newbie here.)

There are some advantages in doing it that way as opposed to NOBO/SOBO from HF. You'd get the south out of the way while it's still reasonably cool and the water hasn't all dried up yet. Assuming a mid to late April start at HF, you'd flip to Katahdin about the time other SOBO hikers are starting in mid June. You'd still be finishing PA in August in some brutal heat and humidity, but it's not possible to avoid that unless you split the hike up into two years. Flipping back to HF in June might actually be better. Easier to get to and you get to New England towards the fall.

The only real disadvantage is you'd be hiking through the NOBO bubble both ways, although there would be less on one on the northern leg.
    Follow slogoen on Instagram.

Slo-Go'en has good points.