WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default The subject is Shelters

I guess I'm on a soap box today, but I think if I was a shelter builder or maintainer ...and WhiteBlaze was my only source of information ... I'd take my hammer, saw, and broom and go home.

Most of the comments I read about shelters on WB would lead me to think that shelters are rat infested, dirty, rundown places to be avoided at all costs. It makes me think that many of these fine folks haven't stayed in a shelter in many years ........ if ever. Personally, I choose to stay at shelters whenever possible ... as an early starter in the mornings, they allow me to get away more quickly, and with dryer equipment.

I will of course admit that there is the occasional shelter that could use some serious renovation, but by in large the shelters on the AT are reasonably clean, well maintained, and dry. There are many that are even delightful places because of design, view, or exceptional maintenance. Based on the number of times I arrive at a shelter and it is full, or nearly full ... I believe a lot of people agree with me on this opinion.

So ... here is my thanks to the shelter builders and maintainers!!! Your hard work is much appreciated by this section hiker. Kudos for all your hard work and dedication.

Turtle

P.S. I have been know to "complain" when there isn't a shelter where I need it, or the shelters are a long way off the trail ... but these aren't serious complaints. I am well aware that shelters are where they are for reasons of accessibility, water, terrain, and other related issues. Besides, if you spaced them how I wanted, then they would be wrong for those who hike more or less in a day. So, those complaints should be entirely disregarded. They only come at the end of a long day hiking.